Just chatting.

I used to be a belly dancer. I started when I was 14 or 15. Mother was fine with it until I asked her to help me make a costume. Which when you have the pocket money of a 15yr old means sewing sequins and disco material onto a bra, then she was less impressed, but being the awesome person she is still encouraged the dancing, I was never into sports or athletics, but was keen to be a performer of some kind, she also encouraged costumes with sleeves and midriff coverings ^_^

Image

This was the last major gig I did, man, that black wig was a nightmare, but it was still so much fun.

I’ve been dancing on and off since then, managed to get a few paid gigs even. I haven’t danced for a quite a while, and stopping that is probably what caused my core muscles to go, and thus last year I slipped a disc, the pain I could handle but the scary neurological symptoms that preceded it. Eeek. Well, you’d think an event like that would motivate me into taking better care of myself, and I said I would. It never happened. I’ve not been dancing again, or any kind of muscle repair exercises.

So, I’ve got 4 weeks left on my HSM, I’m going to put a goal up to dance at least 4 times a week for the next 4 weeks. Try and get my back into shape. or at least start strengthening it. I know of at least one person reading my blog who’ll probably hold me accountable now that I’ve put it out there. Maybe after the 4 week I’ll add an hour of Yoga a week in there.

While I’ve not been dancing in any routine capacity as such I do still shimmy to most music…. even in shopping centres.

Leave a Reply

