Irrational

I have a fear of moths… I don’t know why, I wasn’t attacked by a vicious rabid moth as a child. My husband is fairly sympathetic toward this fear of moths and ushers them out of rooms when they’re in my line of sight. He’s even kind enough to remove ones I haven’t seen and squealed at. In the early days, he thought it was funny, and made jokes like, “Why can’t you be a normal girls and scared of spiders.” I almost agree, comparatively, moths aren’t threatening or deadly, that i know of… I almost agree with his evaluation

of it being an irrational fear, but then I’m kind of a scaredy-cat. I used to be scared of clowns, rabbits, I jump when the phone rings too loud, my housemate once played a -hilarious to him- prank on my while I was playing F.E.A.R. Since my childhood I’ve made an effort to come to terms with clowns and rabbits, I’m pretty sure I’ve recently conquered that.

The funniest part of this confession is that you may already know that I’m quite a fan of horror movies. Tonight I watched “The Possession,” and it featured moths a little. I’m not sure if I’m just starting to scare a little better, or if it was the moths, but I got a quality scare out of this movie. My husband thinks that my obsession with seeking the next great scare is obscene, but then he’s the one who gets the clingy wife in bed who’s overdone it with the horror movies. The first horror movie I ever saw was “Stephen King’s IT.” Not only did it scare me, the word my mother used was “traumatised.” She was ready to take me to a child psychologist, but then I was 13 and had never been exposed to the genre, and I already wasn’t a clown-fan. I’ve watched again sometime in my 20’s, and slept fine that night. It would seem I’ve come a long way since then, and I wonder why? Why do I seek out the genre? Why do I enjoy the scare? Am I damaged? And now that I’ve opened this can of worms, I might re-visit this again some time…

Feel free to share any thoughts or recommendations below ^_^Image

Leave a Reply

