Coco-Mint Macaroons

Hello again Food lovers!

So this weeks post is another “Waste not, Want not,” where I was using up a few things that I had in the fridge/pantry, and again inspired by the “4 Ingredients” cookbooks. The idea came from this one:

WP_20140112_022

The Ingredients I used had a few variations:

4 cups of desiccated coconut, (!I know! I measured something!!!!)

The left over (not especially) fresh Mint leaves from the NYE cocktails.

Some Peppermint essence (which really makes them smell awesomely minty)

400g can of condensed milk. (I used the skim, I’m meant to be on a diet, after all.)

 

So, here’s what 4 cups of coconut looks like, and all the mint cut up (with scissors, I’m pretty lazy.) I gave it a quick muddle with the Mortar and Pestle and then put it into the coconut, threw in the can of condensed milk and stirred. This was the point I decided it wasn’t minty enough, so I pilfered the essence out of the pantry.

WP_20140112_017WP_20140112_018WP_20140112_024WP_20140112_020

Then it was just a case of rolling/spooning the mixture into little balls onto oven trays lined with baking paper (cos seriously, washing up?) and baking them at about 180 deg. Celsius, for about 12-15 minutes, but I watched them and took them out when they were nice and golden. It was just after 12 minutes. Here’s how the baking process looked:

WP_20140112_021

In they go!

WP_20140112_026

Almost done!

WP_20140112_027

Really? I have to wait for them to cool?!?!?

WP_20140112_030

Delicious nummy treats needs to be presented on pretty dinner-ware ^_^

 

 

 

And that was that! They’ve been popular so far, I’ve shared them with a few friends, and I do plan to do this again, experiment a few times if I have to, cos let’s face it, Mojito Balls sounds like such a tempting snack!

I’d love to see any photos if anyone gives it a go, and better yet if someone runs with the Mojito idea!

See you again soon,

Your fellow foodie,

L.

3 thoughts on “Coco-Mint Macaroons

Leave a Reply

