Little things.

So, between September 2013 and September 2014, I lost about 18kgs (or about 40 pounds for those of you who don’t live in metric land). I’ve been seeing a dietitian since all the sleep clinic could tell me last year was to see a nasal surgeon to investigate that being a possible cause of my poor sleep. The surgeon did notice something but fixing it surgically only had a 10-15% chance of it actually making a difference to my sleep disorder.

And this is me in Sept ’13 just before I started taking better care of myself.

WP_20130907_008

~Shoe love is true love~

 

 

I’ve always used the Bridget Jones line of “Yes, I will always be just a little bit fat,” and well having the dog means I’m not entirely lazy, but none the less I managed to collect a bit of excess weight. I found myself in one of those phases where clothes were feeling tight, some of them were put away because they were no longer acceptable to wear in public, or were simply too small. Anyway it’s been the little things really that made all the difference, and while I first noticed it as “gee those pants are loose,” a lot of friends and work colleagues had started making comments about me wasting away. By March I was feeling pretty happy about everything and started to loosen up on how strict I was being, just relaxed the rules a little. It slowed down the weight loss, but I was still really happy with the rate I was still achieving.

InstagramCapture_cf208ffd-8239-4708-a354-33baf6c5170e_jpg

March 2014

 

I was still a fairly decent size in September last year, but healthier, and isn’t that all that matters. I was in size 12 jeans which hadn’t happened since I was terribly unwell in my 2nd year of uni. Unfortunately I didn’t get full body photos at any of the events I was at (and I had a lot on last September!) but this is my awesome Halloween and the last full body selfie just weeks (possibly days) before baby time!

WP_20141101_039

 

Needless to say, I’m pretty chuffed. So after showing off, here’s my advice:
1/ Dietitians are worth the money spent. At the end of the day you can’t put a price on your health.

2/ Don’t just see your dietitian, do what they tell you!

3/ Keep a food diary, You’ll be amazed at how much you’re actually putting away in a day.

4/ Make little changes. Depriving yourself of everything you love will just make you miserable.

5/ Always have an apple(or similar) handy. If you really are as hungry as you think you are, you’ll eat that apple.

The key for me was the little things. It’s simple, but if one person reads this and it helps them, I’ll be even more chuffed.

Take care of yourself!

L.

 

2 thoughts on “Little things.

Leave a Reply

