Coffee and TV

Maternity leave has meant being trapped on the couch a bit. My little girl doesn’t day-sleep very well, but will settle beside (or on) me on the couch. So when I’m home, I spend my days on the couch.  I live in a TV signal dead zone,  so without any free to air stations and a disinclination to pay for “cable,” hubby and I haven’t had TV for 7 or so years. This doesn’t bother us, we get Doctor Who on ABC IView,  we borrow and binge a lot of DVDs, online news is available on smartphones on the go, and radio news on the way to work keeps us in the loop with the world. So what do we miss?
Well at work the girls talk a lot about cooking shows. I would be happy to watch some of those considering how I enjoy life in the kitchen. You may have seen my recent efforts for fathers day.
image

Mmmm lamb cutlets.
There are a lot of times people talk about reality TV. Don’t feel like I’m missing anything there…
So here’s my day right now:

I now have a streaming service, which I control from my mobile phone. Which is convenient because it’s always nearby. I like to binge TV shows and while my girl and I live in the lounge we’ll get through quite a bit during the free trial period. We’ve just finished 11 seasons of Frasier and I’ve started both Dexter and Glee so that should keep me busy for a while. They’re constantly on while she naps on me, while we play together on the floor, while she chills in the bouncer and I do kitchen stuff. Most of all I enjoy when I can finish my coffee before it goes cold.
image

That’s all from me today. I’m going to get comfy again and load the next episode.
Cheers,
L.

Leave a Reply

